Environment, Forest and Climate Change Department,

Government of Uttar Pradesh, India

Shri. Yogi Adityanath

Hon'ble Chief Minister,Uttar Pradesh

Shri. Dara Singh Chauhan

Hon'ble Minister,Forest Department


Directors of the zoo

Mr. R.S. Bhadauria, was the first Director of the Zoo. Under his supervision the construction of the zoo started and took the shape of a Zoological Park.He was succeeded by Mr. S.C. Sharma who became founder Member Secretary of the Central Zoo Authority of India. The later Zoo directors were also strong wildlife lovers.Most of the Directors had tenure of more than three years. Thus the directors had ample opportunity for planning and implementing their ideas of ex-situ conservation management. Directors who headed the Zoo since its inception are tabulated in the Table as given below

S.no. Name of Director From To
01 Mr. R.S.BHADAURIA, IFS Apr 1971 Dec 1977
02 Mr. S.C.SCHARMA, IFS Dec 1977 Jun 1983
03 Mr. G.P.PANDEY, IFS Jun 1983 Aug 1983
04 Mr. G.C.MISHRA, IFS Aug 1983 Feb 1986
05 Md. ASHAN, IFS Mar 1986 Apr 1991
06 Mr. B.S.RAO, IFS May 1991 May 1991
07 Mr. G.P.SHARMA, IFS May 1991 Jun 1993
08 Mr. A.K.DUTT, IFS Jun 1993 July 1996
09 Ms. MAMATA SHARMA, IFS Aug 1996 Aug 2000
10 Mr. RAKESH SHAH, IFS Aug 2000 Dec 2000
11 Ms. PRATIBHA SINGH, IFS Dec 2000 Feb 2004
12 Mr. K.P.DUBEY, IFS Feb 2004 Dec 2004
13 Mr. KURUVILLA THOMAS, IFS Dec 2004 Jan 2005
14 Mr. AVANI KUMAR,IFS Jan 2005 Mar 2005
15 Mr. HEMANTH KUMAR,IFS Mar 2005 July 2008
16 Mr. K.PRAVEEN RAO,IFS July 2008 Jan 2013
17 Mr. KURUVILLA THOMAS,IFS Jan 2013 July 2014
18 Mr. MUKESH KUMAR, IFS July 2014 Till Date..